Faith Sharing

So, for Lent, our church decided to offer several core classes.  Most of them I had already had, but there was one I had not taken.  It is called Faith Sharing.  Now you have to understand, I do consider myself an evangelical, at least in the sense that we are all called to participate in the great commission.  The problem is I flunked witnessing years ago.  Okay maybe it was called evangelism, same thing.  Whatever it was called, I was no good at it.

I remember trying when I was in school, wearing buttons and things that were supposed to lead to conversation about my faith.  I had one that said PBPGINFWMY.  So people would say what does that mean?  And I would answer “please be patient, God is not finished with me yet.”  And the response would be, “Oh.”   That’s not exactly a conversation starter for me!

Later I took a class in evangelism.  I think we were supposed to ask people where they thought they would go when they died.   Yeah, now I’m going to walk up to a stranger and ask that?  There were also tracts, which I found a bit insulting when someone handed one to me.  Perhaps they were having the same problem, but it seemed like the person was always disappointed when I said I was already a Christian.

So, I am approaching this class with some trepidation.  I just don’t see myself going up to strangers and starting conversations on faith.  I’ve always thought I would be happy to share, if anyone were to ask, but that does not seem to happen.  But it occurred to me there may be other ways to approach this.  So, I decided to start a blog.  I had been thinking about it for a while, but this gives me some impetus to actually get started.

I will have to let you know later how the class goes.  It was tailor made for our church and I don’t think I am the only one who finds it difficult to share my faith.  I honestly believe that sharing in the context of an ongoing friendship makes much more sense than the “cold call” style presented to me years ago.  Problem is, most of my friends are already Christians as well.

So here I am, planning to share some things about my faith, or perhaps just what is going on in my head.  I doubt I will do a post about how I came to Jesus per se.  I mean that was over 40 years ago.  I’m more concerned with how faith is lived on a daily basis.  Hopefully some of you will find some inspiration along the way

About ansaphil

I am the fourth of five children, born and raised in Bakersfield. I am an at home mom of two teenagers. I attended the local junior college and worked my way through my last two years at USC. But that was some time ago and I do not think writing ability has much to do with where one attended school. I was never sure what to be when I grew up. But I always loved books and music. Several years ago I found myself writing more and more in my journals. It was almost as though I was processing life through my writing. Eventually it occurred to me that perhaps I might have something to say publicly, and not just in my journals. I hope my unique perspective on things will be a blessing to all.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

