Hanging laundry

I have no pressing issues to address today, so I thought I would just comment on my activities.  After several storms last week and several very overcast days this week, it finally is clear and warm.  I was doing laundry, and for the first time in months, I decided to pull out the retractable clothesline and hang a load instead of just throwing it in the dryer.  Dryers are a wonderful invention that frees us up to do other pressing things.  But sometimes it is nice to slow down and get in touch with the rhythms of other times.

My mother had a clothesline behind her garage.  It had t-bar poles and multiple wires so you could hang more than one load at a time.  I was one of the younger kids, so I really don’t remember very well when it was in use, though I know we hung beach towels on it after a trip to the neighborhood pool, or water play at home with the hose.  But she told me years later, that she actually missed hanging laundry.  When her kids were small, there must have been daily  loads, if only to keep up with the diapers.  But she made friends over the fences with other women engaged in the same task.  Sounds nice.  Now it seems the only ones home besides me are the retired folks, and they are seldom out and about, certainly not near my back fence.

Still, I have to confess, though I would not enjoy it on a required basis, it can be nice to hang a load of wash.  Usually I will hang only a load of sheets, which takes very little time.  Today it was actually clothes, so I noted that I had to keep returning to get more clothes pins. which I stuff in my pockets.  It is the kind of activity that lets you stop and breathe, instead of just rushing on to the next thing.  I notice the warm sun on my back.  In a relatively short time, it will be blazing hot in late morning, but today it’s nice, like a caress.  There is not too much traffic noise and in between it gets quiet, except for an occasional woof from the dogs, and birds singing away.

Sometimes I have good conversations with the Lord, while hanging laundry.  Not today as much.  I think He knew I needed to just unwind, relax a little and just be for a while.  The hardest parts of my prayer time, when I do it intentionally are the waiting, watching and listening.  Perhaps some of that happens more naturally when our hands are occupied with some mundane task, that demands little actual attention.  Perhaps you, like me, are a little tense, worried about getting it all done and you need to unwind.  Vacation would be nice, but it’s not happening any time soon.  Take a mini-vacation and hang a load of laundry when you have a nice day.  You may find the Lord meets you there.

About ansaphil

I am the fourth of five children, born and raised in Bakersfield. I am an at home mom of two teenagers. I attended the local junior college and worked my way through my last two years at USC. But that was some time ago and I do not think writing ability has much to do with where one attended school. I was never sure what to be when I grew up. But I always loved books and music. Several years ago I found myself writing more and more in my journals. It was almost as though I was processing life through my writing. Eventually it occurred to me that perhaps I might have something to say publicly, and not just in my journals. I hope my unique perspective on things will be a blessing to all.
This entry was posted in laundry. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Hanging laundry

  1. I liked your post. I though that it was particularly amusing because I just wrote a blurb on one of my posts about praying and doing the laundry. If you want to check it out it’s post Prayer(103). Keep writing. Keep Blogging. I’ll be back.

  2. ansaphil says:

    I read several of your blogs. You have a rather eclectic mix of influences. Thought you’d like to know, my son also reads his bible during church, for much the same reason as you stated. I figure it’s better than not reading it at all.

  3. Thanks for the looksee. Blessings to you and your son.

Leave a Reply

