Beth Moore

I recently read a blog about Beth Moore, and was rather surprised at the comments that follow.  All I can say is it is a good thing she doesn’t bother to read reviews.  At least, the blog itself was largely complementary, to the surprise of the author, who I believe was Karen Zacharias.  But the comments were largely negative, complaining about everything from her theology to the fact that she apparently actually hears from God from time to time.

Okay, I have to admit, that I really enjoyed the one Beth Moore study that we did in our women’s class.  It was Believing God and I found it quite inspiring.  For the most part, our ladies found it to be a bit more work than we have time for.  We had to split each session into two weeks to get through it, but it was still a lot of work.  Many of our members work full time, which makes it hard to get a lot of daily study time.  So it was a stretch for us at the time.  As for me, it seemed to be just what I needed at the time.  It is meant to encourage us in our faith, not be perfectly correct theology.  So I have a bit of a problem with the comments that it is incorrect here or there theologically.  She never claimed to be a theologian, just a believer who has followed Jesus into His calling for her, teaching the bible.  She reported being extremely surprised that it grew the way it did.

The real red flag for me in the comments was  when someone complained that she apparently hears directly from God from time to time.  I want to respond to that, and your objection to hearing from God is what?  Adam heard from God, Noah heard from God, Abraham heard from God, Moses heard from God, David usually listened to God through a priest, and of course there were all the prophets who heard from God, which sometimes included women, Mary heard from God through an angel.  Here you have a person who really wants to do God’s will and they pray with a fervency that is quite unusual in this day and age, and you are objecting because God answers?  I think the problem there is with the commenter, not Beth Moore.

Another complaint was that it was too emotional.  Well, women tend to be more emotional than men, and some people are more emotional than others, so that seems to be a matter of perhaps she is not your cup of tea.  Have you forgotten how David danced for joy before the ark of the Lord.  Apparently God was pleased with that.  Good grief, it seems like all through the old testament, God’s major complaint about the Israelites is that they don’t love Him.  Love, now that’s an emotion for you.  Sometimes it takes you by surprise and turns your whole life upside down.  Perhaps the commenter has a problem with hardness of heart?

Be honest here, if Beth Moore’s ministry had stayed within the confines of her local church, these people would have no problem with it whatever.  Let me tell you, I will take a teacher with emotional depth, who prays fervently over what they present, and yes who includes illustrations from her own life, and sometimes hears from God any day, over one who has perfect theology, and 3 points in every message and who would never ever share anything about his or her own struggles to believe and apply the bible to their own life.

About ansaphil

I am the fourth of five children, born and raised in Bakersfield. I am an at home mom of two teenagers. I attended the local junior college and worked my way through my last two years at USC. But that was some time ago and I do not think writing ability has much to do with where one attended school. I was never sure what to be when I grew up. But I always loved books and music. Several years ago I found myself writing more and more in my journals. It was almost as though I was processing life through my writing. Eventually it occurred to me that perhaps I might have something to say publicly, and not just in my journals. I hope my unique perspective on things will be a blessing to all.
This entry was posted in Beth Moore. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

