Simon’s wife

Simon, what are you up to now?  One of the kids came running in to tell me that you are going off with some prophet.  No, it isn’t John the baptizer.  This is a new one, one Yeshua from Nazareth.  I don’t understand it.  I mean, my Simon is not perfect.  He’s a little impulsive and sometimes hot tempered.  Still, I thought he had settled down since we got married.  We have a house, a family, a business.  He’s a fisherman you see and he works hard.  He works with old Zebedee and his sons James and John and we recently got a second boat.  So, I don’t understand it at all.  I hear James and John also went with this Nazarene.  Zebedee can’t do it all on his own and how are my mother and I and the kids to get along on our own?  I sure hope he comes to his senses.  This is just crazy!  You know the saying, can anything good come out of Nazareth?  Why didn’t he at least come home first to talk to me?  Maybe I could have talked him out of leaving.

Well, then again, probably not.  When Simon gets a new idea, there’s no stopping him.  Why, when he wanted to get the new boat, I was sure we’d go broke before we could pay for it.  But he said it would work out, and it did.  Dear Lord, I hope he knows what he is doing this time though.  Perhaps I need to go out there and hear this man for myself.  There must be something about him if he can get a fisherman to stop to hear him in the middle of the day.  I should take Simon some food and a cloak at least.  He left with nothing but the clothes on his back.

_

So, I took some food out to Simon and James and John.  There are several others as well.  It seems as though this Yeshua is gathering a band of disciples around him.  Crowds also gather to hear him speak.  He tells stories of how it will be in the kingdom of God.  I like them.  They are so different from all the laws most of the rabbis discuss endlessly.  It is almost like God would be concerned with our everyday struggles.

The man himself is surprising as well.  You would expect him to be tall and good looking for all the people who are following him around.  But he looks just like anyone you might know, not remarkable at all.  He could certainly fade right into a crowd if he wished to do so.  But somehow he is different from everyone else I have ever met.  I took the food to Simon and would have just slipped away in order not to be in the way, of course.  But he insisted Simon bring me over and introduce me to him.  What kind of man does that?  He thanked me for the food of course.  But there is something about his eyes, or the way he looked at me.

He commanded my attention.  No that’s not what I mean to say.  It’s more like he has some personal magnetism.  It was  a little like when I fell in love with Simon, but not like a physical attraction.  I know I am not explaining it well at all.  But it was as if he could, just by looking at you, see everything about you, good and bad.  And yet, there was no condemnation for the bad parts, only compassion.  I think I can understand a little now why Simon felt he had to go.

Simon told me a story too though.  It seems Yeshua asked to use the boat to speak to the crowd.  And then he had them put the nets out and they were suddenly full of fish, although of late the catch has not been good at all.  Simon said it made him feel so unworthy, being in the presence of one who is obviously a prophet.  And yet, Yeshua turned around and asked him to follow and gave him a new name, Peter, the rock.  Odd that it reminds me of how Jacob got the name Israel.  I wonder what it all means.

So now I am going home.  Somehow I have a feeling that life will never be the same.  Somehow, I think that no one could ever be the same once they have seen those eyes.

About ansaphil

I am the fourth of five children, born and raised in Bakersfield. I am an at home mom of two teenagers. I attended the local junior college and worked my way through my last two years at USC. But that was some time ago and I do not think writing ability has much to do with where one attended school. I was never sure what to be when I grew up. But I always loved books and music. Several years ago I found myself writing more and more in my journals. It was almost as though I was processing life through my writing. Eventually it occurred to me that perhaps I might have something to say publicly, and not just in my journals. I hope my unique perspective on things will be a blessing to all.
This entry was posted in fiction, Jesus' eyes. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Simon’s wife

  1. meggiev777 says:

    Nice! Your story is very like the portraits that I write. I always get stuck on the eyes, too. Wouldn’t it have been wonderful to have actually seen him? That will come, but never soon enough!

    • ansaphil says:

      Thanks, perhaps you inspired me. I was going to talk about how when we really look at Jesus, it can’t fail to have an effect on us. I’ve often thought about how he must have had nearly a magnetic effect, so that people would just drop everything and follow. But I got the idea to do it in story form, because I think it may communicate it better, or at least on a different level.

Leave a Reply

