Interruptions

I must admit, today I have no particular agenda.  My day has been filled with interruptions to my normal schedule, which always makes it harder to get the normal things done around the interruptions.  For instance, I just brought my daughter home from school and noticed the laundry basket from yesterday.  I realized, not only had I not brought the laundry in from the garage to fold, I had not put in today’s load.  Tomorrow is another day with interruptions, that is appointments, so I can’t afford to just let it slide until tomorrow.

If you have everything under control and take appointments in stride, may I offer my congratulations.  Personally, I depend on a certain amount of routine, and when that is upset, I feel off kilter.  Today, I did not get my usual two mile morning walk, because my daughter had an appointment with the orthodontist piggy-backed to a dental cleaning.  With travel time, all of that took nearly 3 hours out of my day.  Well, maybe not exactly since part of that time I would have been walking her to school.  But at any rate, it was a large chunk of time out of the half day I get without anyone home to need this or that.

Part of that time I would have journaled, and part I would have sat and intentionally focused on Jesus.  Hopefully, in the process, I would have come up with some fabulous idea for my blog.  As it is though, I just feel a bit lost.  And yet, I felt it was well past time to sit down and write something.  I know Jesus is with me, and am still learning about how sometimes faith requires us to take one step and then another, trusting Him to guide the process.  It is easier when I have some issue that is demanding to be addressed.  But at other times obedience requires that I simply put forth effort and let Him worry about the results.

I guess the point is, it is not at all easy to practice the presence of Jesus when in the middle of running here and there.  I think that is why I prefer to group my errands together, so as to free up more time to sit and reflect.  I’ve read the classic work about the concept, and like the idea.  I just don’t find it all that easy to implement.

Several years back, I had a blessed period where God met me and I could not wait to get away from the chores to go sit with him.  I would go out into the back yard after dinner and sit on the swing the kids never used much and just talk to Jesus.  And sometimes He would answer me, in amazing ways.  Whether I got a specific answer at the time or not was not really the issue.  The point is, the channel was open.  I have to tell you though, I was pretty much useless around the house.  So I could not sustain the intensity over the long term.  The kids went back to school and there were papers to sign and this and that to attend.  We got new dogs and I could no longer focus out in the backyard.  I tried in the house, but there is always some form of electronic noise distracting me.   So, I came around to where my time with Jesus has to be in the mornings when everyone is out of the house, except there are other things that have to be accomplished by the way, so it isn’t perfect.

Most of the time I can get away with Jesus if I need to do so.  I may have an extended session with him over some issue that needs more than just a sentence prayer.  But lately I have quite often been doing a little twelve step process that includes things like waiting and listening and meditating, along with adoration, confession, thanksgiving and supplication.  Okay that was mixing two different methods, but the point is, there are common elements.  I just need some peace and quiet to be able to do it.  I once was told that I should pray in the bathroom if necessary, but I sure don’t find it very conducive to prayer most of the time.  Guess I will just have to keep seeking Jesus in the midst of it all, even the interruptions.

About ansaphil

I am the fourth of five children, born and raised in Bakersfield. I am an at home mom of two teenagers. I attended the local junior college and worked my way through my last two years at USC. But that was some time ago and I do not think writing ability has much to do with where one attended school. I was never sure what to be when I grew up. But I always loved books and music. Several years ago I found myself writing more and more in my journals. It was almost as though I was processing life through my writing. Eventually it occurred to me that perhaps I might have something to say publicly, and not just in my journals. I hope my unique perspective on things will be a blessing to all.
This entry was posted in interruptions, Prayer, trust. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Interruptions

  1. meggiev777 says:

    This is exactly the same experience (sometimes writing just because you have to write, and leave the rest to God) that I have experienced in the postaday challenge. I made it my goal to write every day for one year, no matter what. Up to that point, I would have laughed if you had told me I would ever run dry. But I do. And then I just write whatever comes to mind. And sometimes that’s what means the most to my readers.

Leave a Reply

