Peace

Our topic today was peace, specifically peace with God is the fruit of oneness with God.  But of course we traveled some rabbit trails.  To begin with, we switched teachers from the plan, and then that person admitted that he could not relate to the old testament lesson from which the author got the topic.  It was based on 2 Sam 19 and 20 and Psalm 4.  I’m beginning to think the author was simply doing an old testament study at the time and was determined to make it go with the principles he was writing the book about.  He does say in the book that these principles are seen from the old testament and into the new.  In any event, our teacher chose some verses in Philippians to end with instead.

But Psalm 4 made a great starting point.  From there we moved on to talk about anxiety and peace.  Since we have members in the unenviable position of having to look for a new job, due to standing up for their beliefs, we asked for an update on the situation.    It seems they are still at peace about their decision to make a stand, in fact he said he hasn’t missed his job.  He is still getting interview requests from various places in the country, so God seems to be working to get some discussion going on the issue in question.  I find that very interesting.  Also, they got an offer from a friend of a place to stay rent free for a while.  Fortunately, when they looked for a house to buy, they didn’t find anything they liked, so they can get out of their leased house whenever it works for them, most likely after school is finished for their daughter.  I wonder how she is taking the upheaval?  They haven’t really said.  Anyway, they also were contacted by someone who may have some job connections, near where they would be staying, so it looks like God is arranging things on a personal level for them.  Almost gives me goose bumps to see how God seems to be making things fall into place in this situation.  He really knows how to take care of His own, even while making good out of evil.

Then we had some discussion of just how we cope, especially when we can’t sleep due to our minds churning about our worries.  Someone said you should get up and do something for a while, another that they watch tv and fall asleep in front of it.  Yet another said, if she can’t sleep, she turns to prayer, though sometimes she isn’t sure what to pray about!  But then she can always pray that God shows her what to pray about.  It was like a perfect segway, I couldn’t resist mentioning how often God has led me to come to Him and pray about some issue from my past that is affecting my perceptions in the present.  Most often I have to start by simply asking Him what the issue is, or what is behind whatever emotion drove me out of bed.  It’s not always instant, but He will bring some memory to mind that He wants to deal with.  It’s such a turn around from years past when I hadn’t a clue to how to even talk to God about healing, that I keep trying to find ways to share it with others.

Anyway, we tried to get back to the book, and answer some of the questions.  We never really got there, but oddly enough, I think we came to much the same conclusion, that you have to focus on God in order to trust Him and then the peace comes.  At least, I think that was pretty much what the verses in Philippians said.   The book had asked if you had ever spent an extended period of time in prayer and meditation on God’s word and whether that had made you feel at peace.  Well, one of our members talked about breath prayers, which are a form of meditation in which you recite two lines of scripture, as you breathe in and out.   It might have been interesting to hear some stories of our adventures in prayer, but if we really got started, we might have missed the church service, and the little kids were doing a darling musical that was not to be missed.

Feel free to share your adventures in prayer in the comments.

About ansaphil

I am the fourth of five children, born and raised in Bakersfield. I am an at home mom of two teenagers. I attended the local junior college and worked my way through my last two years at USC. But that was some time ago and I do not think writing ability has much to do with where one attended school. I was never sure what to be when I grew up. But I always loved books and music. Several years ago I found myself writing more and more in my journals. It was almost as though I was processing life through my writing. Eventually it occurred to me that perhaps I might have something to say publicly, and not just in my journals. I hope my unique perspective on things will be a blessing to all.
This entry was posted in peace, Prayer. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

