No lesson this week

Sorry all, there was no Sunday school this week, so I can’t review the lesson.  We had just one service with the kids singing songs from VBS and the youth doing the music.  It was a nice combination of praise songs and a couple of hymns.  I was surprised at how many kids were up front for the VBS.  Years ago, when I led the music, I would tell them to come sing, and have maybe 5 or 6 show up!  They had like 30 there yesterday.  I gave up the job when my kid begged to be allowed to not attend VBS.  I guess it’s not right for everyone.  My daughter turned down the option as well, but now says she doesn’t understand why I didn’t take her.  She went a couple years to her friend’s church.  Oh well, can’t win on things like that.  I’ve never been the type to simply give my kids orders anyway.   When I tried with kid #1, he sat there and refused to participate!

Speaking of which, I just realized that he comes back from Australia on the same day his sister has an orthodontist appointment.  Dad decided to take him to the plane, so I guess, it being a work day, I will get to bring him back.  I was all for shipping him there on the Airport Bus and not trying to navigate LAX, you know?  Of course, we only know the day and not the time at this point.  They changed the outbound flight once already but haven’t given us anything about return to date.  He leaves Sunday.

So many blogs have commented on the case where a disabled child was asked to leave a service after vocalizing at an inopportune time.  I think if  that were my church, I would be out church hunting.  I would think though, that that sort of thing would be a time where you do a little more than just vote with your feet.  The leadership should be told that you are leaving because you can see by the fruit of that action that their theology so poorly understands Jesus and all He stood for, that you can no longer be a part of it.  Good grief!  I can’t imagine such a thing.  We have babies and children making noises in our services all the time.  The best thing about that is it means you have some young families worshipping with you!  Our average age keeps creeping up, so we are happy to see them!

Of course, on one blog, they posted about a similar situation involving an adult, who had attended a church for some time and then was asked to leave due to a spastic condition.  Frankly, I think someone like that is a gift to a church.  The odd thing was though, that the responses were on the lines of, we are going to look for a church with bad music and no sound system, in order to get away from this stuff.  As someone who has been involved in church music for most of my life and whose abilities have grown with all the practice, I took exception to that.  It is not whether or not you have sound or video capabilities, but your attitude about what you are doing that makes the difference.  I have to believe that God loves it when we do our level best and everything comes together in a near professional manner, as much as when we are messing things up and depending on Him to fix it before it reaches the ears of the congregation.   Whatever we do is supposed to be done to the glory of God right?

About ansaphil

I am the fourth of five children, born and raised in Bakersfield. I am an at home mom of two teenagers. I attended the local junior college and worked my way through my last two years at USC. But that was some time ago and I do not think writing ability has much to do with where one attended school. I was never sure what to be when I grew up. But I always loved books and music. Several years ago I found myself writing more and more in my journals. It was almost as though I was processing life through my writing. Eventually it occurred to me that perhaps I might have something to say publicly, and not just in my journals. I hope my unique perspective on things will be a blessing to all.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

