Reflections on Ashram

So, you know how when you travel, you always forget something, no matter how many lists you make, or how many times you check the house.  In my case, I forgot two important things, despite even asking God to tell me if there was anything else.  That made me rather tense and uptight.  However, no one seemed to be very mad at me but me.  I got to the open heart and suddenly realized I hadn’t even thought about our questions.  Why am I here?  Well, I come every year and being on the board, it is kind of required.  But that’s not really why I come.  I come because I’m frazzled by all the stuff I do all the time and I need to get away from it to hear from God.  I come because in the past, my times with Him at Ashram have been pivotal to my walk with Him.  I come because I’m curious to see what He will do this year.

But this year, I seemed to bring the frazzled part with me.  I had effectively given away my job, which seemed to take too much out of me, to even be able to focus on God at all.  But I was given a different job, kind of a one day thing, but it totally wore me out on the first full day.  Well, the weather kind of didn’t help, because it was hot, and I don’t handle the heat well.  I spent much of the week trying to keep my eyes open so I could hear the speakers.  But that day especially, is simply a blur.

The next afternoon was spent searching for the nearest branch of our bank, so I could replace some forgotten checks.  It worked out well once I found my way, but I got a little anxious on the way and missed the turn to camp on the way back.  Oh well, all’s well that ends well, I guess.  We missed swimming but got back in time for other things.  That evening I got my one time in the prayer chapel.  It was busy this year!  And I enjoyed my time there though there was a certain amount of noise outside so I found I had to pray out loud, which I normally just feel silly doing when it is just me and God.  We had discussed praying out loud a bit in prayer group,  so I thought perhaps it was God’s sense of humor coming into play.

Wednesday involved a mad scramble to get my daughter ready for the beach trip, since at first she had declined to participate.  She would like me to go next year and I don’t ever go to the beach during midday since I burn much more easily than she does.  I just can’t quite see it for me.  Perhaps, by next year, she won’t want me around as much?  Anyway, I finally got to the pool along with my husband.

Thursday was the talent show in the afternoon and then the healing service in the evening.  Thanks be to God, I wasn’t quite so tired that night, since I was on one of the prayer teams.  We had quite a few people come up for prayer, for themselves or for others.  I don’t know of any spectacular instant cures, but often the healings are gradual in nature.  Several who seemed to be suffering emotionally in the beginning seemed better at the closing, perhaps able to get out there and take the next step.  And of course we have to wait to see the results for those who are elsewhere.

Then suddenly, it was the last day.  We had our communion service, breakfast, packed up, since the camp needed to turn over all the rooms quickly, then had our overflowing heart, where we share what God has done for us over the week.  Actually, for my part, I shared about writing a blog about Ashram and wishing I could gather up some of the lost souls who sometimes respond on the blogs I read.  I know I haven’t said anything about our speakers.  I will need to review my notes and maybe listen to the CD, especially for the ones I was zoned out on, or missing in action due to prayer time.  Then I can review them in another post.  All I can say is the week zipped by faster than I could imagine.

About ansaphil

I am the fourth of five children, born and raised in Bakersfield. I am an at home mom of two teenagers. I attended the local junior college and worked my way through my last two years at USC. But that was some time ago and I do not think writing ability has much to do with where one attended school. I was never sure what to be when I grew up. But I always loved books and music. Several years ago I found myself writing more and more in my journals. It was almost as though I was processing life through my writing. Eventually it occurred to me that perhaps I might have something to say publicly, and not just in my journals. I hope my unique perspective on things will be a blessing to all.
This entry was posted in healing, retreat. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

