How to save time

Okay, our principle for the week is, “Prayer is life’s greatest time saver.”  The reference was 2 Thess. 3:1, which says nothing of the sort, only requests God’s blessing on the quick spreading of the gospel.  Now I don’t usually look at these in advance, unless I am leading the class.  So this was my first clue that this was one of those weeks where we would be scratching our heads and wondering why the author chose the particular scriptures he did.

Now the introductory paragraph made a lot of sense.  It referred to how we often jump out of bed with our minds racing because we have so much to do.  Sometimes prayer gets skipped, but actually it’s the most important thing.  Most of us have noticed that when we make the time to pray in the morning, the day seems to go more smoothly.  We may not get it all done, but most of the time we are calmer, more at peace.  Often it seems we do actually accomplish more.  One member said it is almost as though God stretches time for us, especially around that devotional time.  There are scripture that would illustrate that, but they were not referenced here.

So, we moved into the scriptures he did list, mostly in 2 Thess.  and they are mostly about the 2nd coming and the man of lawlessness, as it shows up in my version of the bible.  What was on Paul’s mind?  The second coming of Christ.  What was his prayer for the believers?  That they may be worthy of His calling and He might fulfill his purposes.  How will they know the day of the Lord is here?  The man of lawlessness will be revealed.  You get the idea.  It’s not that prayer is never mentioned in the scripture readings, but how and when are we going to get to the principle at the top and what does it have to do with all this other stuff?

We did finally move to Philippians, which of course says to pray about everything with thanksgiving and His peace will be with us.  That at least seems to fit with the theme.  Then the life lesson was that God will answer our prayers in the way and timing that is best.  Okay, that’s a good thing.  Even our intrepid leader of the day just got to a certain point and said he had nothing further.  All we could figure was that the author finds a lot of motivation to pray in the anticipation of the second coming.

On the bright side, we have only 3 principles to go, then we will move on to some other study, which perhaps will make more sense.

 

About ansaphil

I am the fourth of five children, born and raised in Bakersfield. I am an at home mom of two teenagers. I attended the local junior college and worked my way through my last two years at USC. But that was some time ago and I do not think writing ability has much to do with where one attended school. I was never sure what to be when I grew up. But I always loved books and music. Several years ago I found myself writing more and more in my journals. It was almost as though I was processing life through my writing. Eventually it occurred to me that perhaps I might have something to say publicly, and not just in my journals. I hope my unique perspective on things will be a blessing to all.
This entry was posted in Prayer. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

