Out of the mouths of those no longer babes

Long title, I know, but my nearly 14 year old would be quite unhappy if I referred to her as a baby.  On 9/11/01 she was one day from turning 4, so you could say, 9/11 has had an effect on her for most of her life.  At church today, where there was a video tribute to 9/11, after which psalm 88:1-7 was read, and the choir sang a new piece called Lord, have mercy.  So I guess it was still on her mind on the way home.

I’m not at all sure I can recall her exact words, but she turned to me and said something like this:  You know what mom?  When those terrorists attacked us, they wanted to make us afraid of them.  If we were afraid, we would be weak and they would have won.  But instead of getting weaker, we got stronger, so in a way they almost did us a favor.  Something good came out of it.

Yes!  Good from evil, isn’t that what God promises us?  Sometimes her insight amazes me.  In addition it reminded me that one of my trains of thought at the time, was along precisely that line.  My sister was getting married and my husband and I were to travel to Europe for the wedding.  I wondered at first if we should back out, then came to the conclusion that to do so would be to let the terrorists win.  I chose, consciously, not to act out of fear, but out of faith.  We went and had a wonderful time.  Sometimes that’s the way life is.  It may have been somewhat risky to fly, post 9/11, but it was far better to face that fear and not let it control me.  I’m not one to take a lot of risks, but my sister deserved to have her family there to support her.  I can thank the terrorists for strengthening my faith, I guess.

About ansaphil

I am the fourth of five children, born and raised in Bakersfield. I am an at home mom of two teenagers. I attended the local junior college and worked my way through my last two years at USC. But that was some time ago and I do not think writing ability has much to do with where one attended school. I was never sure what to be when I grew up. But I always loved books and music. Several years ago I found myself writing more and more in my journals. It was almost as though I was processing life through my writing. Eventually it occurred to me that perhaps I might have something to say publicly, and not just in my journals. I hope my unique perspective on things will be a blessing to all.
This entry was posted in 9/11, faith. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

