Stuck places

No Sunday school this week, so instead of a review, I thought I’d toss out some things that have been rattling around in my brain.  Two different comments on blogs caught my attention last week.  I don’t know if I will get to the second one, but I thought I would put down something about the first one and see where it leads.  Now the blog was discussing a new interpretation of sin, which mostly confused me, so I’m not going to address it specifically.  What got my attention was amid the comments, and it really said little to address the blog itself either.

Instead, the commenter basically said, good luck with that, won’t happen.  Then he launched into a familiar tirade about fundamentalist/evangelical churches and how they are all about controlling behavior and sin management.  If it had been the first time I saw that sort of rant, I might have passed it by.  However, I was struck by the fact that for this person, it is like a broken record.  Presumably at some point he was a dedicated christian, but now, due to things done to him by other christians, he no longer claims to believe in God at all.  However, he regularly comments on christian blogs, though he claims he cannot stomach church in any form.

So the first thing I thought was, if this person hates God so much, why does he keep posting on this christian blog?  It seems to me that it shows some tiny kernel of faith is still in there.  In essence, he is saying, God I will not believe in you because they did this to me.  I do not know what he is referring to, except in general terms.  Apparently he had normal human struggles, and found condemnation instead of support within whatever churches he attended.  That is not an uncommon story.

The problem, of course, is that he is stuck there.  As I said, he is like a broken record with the complaints, and he admits to being uncomfortable in more liturgical churches.  I had the image of a small child, stamping his foot and demanding punishment for his siblings.  After much thought, I considered posting a comment, simply asking if Jesus came and asked if he wanted to be healed, would he be willing to revisit those difficult times and hear Jesus’ take on it?  I didn’t because there were too many comments and it was off topic in any case.

However, that is, in essence, what we do when ministering inner healing.   It takes some courage to go back into a memory that is hurtful.  The scary part is that you have to be willing to re-experience the feelings, before God brings healing to them.  Mostly we’d rather not have to do that.  But the thing is, He gives us a new perspective on it.  He may tell us it really wasn’t our fault.  On the other hand, he may highlight some attitude or underlying belief on our part that magnified the effects and calls for repentance.  He may even give us some insight into the thought processes of the other person, though most often we simply have to forgive them without understanding why they may have acted as they did.  I can’t give you a blueprint for what God will say or do, because it is unique to every person and situation.

The thing is, though, that all too often we simply trudge along, assuming the pain is permanent.  But God is our healer.  We don’t have to spend the rest of our lives in bondage to something that happened to us as children or young adults.  God is ever willing to meet us there, sometimes with others to pray over us and other times one on one.  Healing starts with our being willing to let Him come in and speak truth to us.

About ansaphil

I am the fourth of five children, born and raised in Bakersfield. I am an at home mom of two teenagers. I attended the local junior college and worked my way through my last two years at USC. But that was some time ago and I do not think writing ability has much to do with where one attended school. I was never sure what to be when I grew up. But I always loved books and music. Several years ago I found myself writing more and more in my journals. It was almost as though I was processing life through my writing. Eventually it occurred to me that perhaps I might have something to say publicly, and not just in my journals. I hope my unique perspective on things will be a blessing to all.
This entry was posted in healing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

