Changes

I am feeling a bit unsettled here, so I am going to lay it out and see where it goes.  Yesterday my husband was home and got the mail.  We are coming up on Christmas, so he handed me a Christmas card with my name on it.  It was from one of those friends I think should be closer, but they never communicate, except perhaps at Christmas.  I’m not one of those who hates the Christmas letters.  I’d rather get some updates than none. My kids’ friends may all be on facebook, but not all of mine have made that transition.  The note was short and not all that cheery.  My friend had lost his dad, his uncle and shockingly, also his sister this past year.  His mother had passed the year before.  I could not help wishing I had known at the time.  That’s a difficult year for anyone and it seems like my prayers are late in the game.  I can only be thankful that he has his own church family to surround him and uphold him.

Then today I went to a party with some of my women friends.  We’ve seen one another through a lot of the stuff life throws at us.  But I was taken by surprise by the news that the hostess of the party is planning to move like 1000 miles away.  It’s going home to her, and hopefully will be less stressful than the job she is leaving.  Some companies get so focused on their business that they forget that their workers are human beings, not robots.  I don’t have any solutions for that, but she was a person there that others went to for prayer, and I think the place will be poorer when she is gone.

I asked whether she thought she could sell her house and got another shocker.  It seems another one of our members is being pushed out of her house by some sort of highway construction.  The solution is serendipitous, but still an unwelcome interruption in the life of a single mom of 3 kids.  At least she won’t be leaving town!

Yet another was discussing possibilities for a future move to smaller digs.  She has mentioned the possibility off and on for several years, but it seems a bit more pressing now.  She is concerned that her long term job may be coming to an end.  Ouch!  Sure, she could become a consultant, but the pay would be less dependable.  

I struggle with stuff like this.  Five or six years ago, my own life was in flux, with relatives dying and friends moving away right and left.  I got through it by learning to trust God more deeply and I’m sure that will get us through the current upheavals as well.  But I have to admit, I’m uncomfortable with this sort of thing.  I prefer my life a bit more predictable.  So, while I will be looking for God to bring good out of these changes and praying for His comfort, wisdom, guidance and provision for my friends, I will also be complaining to Him just a bit, because I don’t really like it!

About ansaphil

I am the fourth of five children, born and raised in Bakersfield. I am an at home mom of two teenagers. I attended the local junior college and worked my way through my last two years at USC. But that was some time ago and I do not think writing ability has much to do with where one attended school. I was never sure what to be when I grew up. But I always loved books and music. Several years ago I found myself writing more and more in my journals. It was almost as though I was processing life through my writing. Eventually it occurred to me that perhaps I might have something to say publicly, and not just in my journals. I hope my unique perspective on things will be a blessing to all.
This entry was posted in reflections and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

