Impact

This is meant to be a short post.  We will see if I can manage that.  In women’s study we were talking about making a regular place to pray.  We got off on a little tangent after reading how one man prayed regularly on his commuter train.  Here’s the question:  Do you think subsequent passengers would feel anything if they sat in the same place?  The idea is that people and actions affect the energy of a place, for good or ill.

Our thought was that most people would be too preoccupied to notice anything.  However, some who are more tuned in spiritually might notice.  One person thought they would be disturbed by it.  This was surprising to me, because I thought the next person would feel a peaceful presence.  Perhaps it would depend on inclined toward God, or actively in rebellion?

I did throw in a story, for what it’s worth.  Some months ago, I was out raking leaves when a neighbor came by, walking her two dogs.  She stopped to chat a bit, then told me the dogs usually relaxed when they came to our house.  She seemed to feel it had some positive energy.  Of course, it may be that it’s just the amount of time it takes to settle down, since we are about 5 houses apart.  But I do like to think that my prayers for the neighborhood would leave a positive effect.

So what do you think?

About ansaphil

I am the fourth of five children, born and raised in Bakersfield. I am an at home mom of two teenagers. I attended the local junior college and worked my way through my last two years at USC. But that was some time ago and I do not think writing ability has much to do with where one attended school. I was never sure what to be when I grew up. But I always loved books and music. Several years ago I found myself writing more and more in my journals. It was almost as though I was processing life through my writing. Eventually it occurred to me that perhaps I might have something to say publicly, and not just in my journals. I hope my unique perspective on things will be a blessing to all.
This entry was posted in Prayer and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

