Lessons from the kittens

Last time I was on here, I was passing on all sorts of inspirational thoughts from the story where Jesus is sleeping in the boat during a storm.  So last Sunday being a new chapter in the book we are studying, I expected a different passage of scripture.  But the book was still on the same one.  There was a question about what it would have looked like if the disciples had exercised faith.  I think primarily they might have been less panicked and more expectant.  I doubt they would have been sitting there calmly doing nothing, because Jesus was with them so nothing could  happen, right?  I think, like good sailors, they would automatically have taken all the normal actions, furling the sails and bailing out the boat.  They would probably still have woken Jesus up, if only to let him know what was going on, but most likely without the “don’t you care that we are going to drown?” attitude.

Frankly, I thought we had covered that pretty well in the previous lesson.  So I have decided it is time that I talked about one of my projects from this Summer.  In June, my next door neighbor was asking if we knew anything about an orange cat.  Well, I told her I had seen a tomcat around the neighborhood.  Only, it seems she was referring to a different cat, which had had kittens in their garage.  She was anxious to find someone else to take care of them.  I didn’t volunteer, since our two resident cats, both fixed, are not fond of others invading their territory.  I thought she pawned them off on someone else.

Then, around the end of July, I finally saw the mama cat and she was leading out 5 kittens!  Now, I hadn’t expected to see them at all, let alone ones big enough to be fast. I assumed, when she talked to me, that she was talking about newborns, but apparently that was not the case.  Well, I decided I needed to get those kittens tamed and into a shelter as soon as possible, and get the mama cat fixed.  So, I brought out food for them, which the mama led them right over to.

So, we looked online and it said 2-6 weeks to tame them.  Hoping for 2, we kept feeding them and inching our way closer.  They would scatter at the slightest motion they didn’t like, not to mention failing to appear when the garbage trucks were around or a gardener was working.  Needless to say, two weeks came and went, and 6 as well.  We were  able to coax them onto our porch to eat, so they were out of sight of our dogs, who were making threatening noises in the backyard when they were in sight.  Very gradually they got to where they would usually show up and not be bothered much by normal noises.

They began to gather on the porch near feeding time, but unlike tame cats, when we appeared, they would hiss at us.  I got so tired of that, I started meowing back at them. Some, at least, learned to meow, but it was quite a demanding sound, mixed with their don’t get near me hisses.  I began to think, maybe this was how God often feels with us.  He loves us, He provides for us, He wants to be near us.  We however, are often keeping Him at arm’s length.  Don’t get too close to me God and don’t mess with me.  I don’t trust you, even if I belong to you.  Can’t you just give me what I want and leave me alone?

I wish I could really have gotten these babies to trust me.  You see, it’s a harsh world out there.  Two of them are gone now.  One had a habit of climbing under trucks and probably was run over.  Another got into our back yard and was killed by the dogs.  If they had been willing to trust us, perhaps we could have found a way to bring them into the house and keep them safe from some of the dangers.  But they won’t have it.  They are literally choosing a harder path of life than is needed.  I think we often do that too.

Have you ever gotten to a point where things are simply beyond your control?  Have you been willing to go through it with Jesus, knowing that somehow, it will come out okay in the end, even though you can’t see how?  Have you heard him say, or felt a nudge to “just trust me?”  I have.  That is how we grow in faith.

About ansaphil

I am the fourth of five children, born and raised in Bakersfield. I am an at home mom of two teenagers. I attended the local junior college and worked my way through my last two years at USC. But that was some time ago and I do not think writing ability has much to do with where one attended school. I was never sure what to be when I grew up. But I always loved books and music. Several years ago I found myself writing more and more in my journals. It was almost as though I was processing life through my writing. Eventually it occurred to me that perhaps I might have something to say publicly, and not just in my journals. I hope my unique perspective on things will be a blessing to all.
This entry was posted in trust and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

